HBO Sports Presents an Explosive World Heavyweight Championship Bout When World Champioship Boxing: Lennox Lewis vs. Shannon Briggs is Seen Live March 28

February 9, 1998

Reigning world heavyweight champ Lennox Lewis climbs into the ring to defend his belt against rising contender Shannon Briggs when WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP BOXING: LENNOX LEWIS VS. SHANNON BRIGGS is presented live SATURDAY, MARCH 28 (10:00 p.m. ET/8:00 p.m. MT/7:00 p.m. PT), from the Atlantic City Convention Center. The HBO Sports broadcast team of Jim Lampley, Larry Merchant and analyst George Foreman will be ringside to call the action of the scheduled 12-round bout, which will be closed captioned for the hearing-impaired and presented in Spanish on HBO en EspaƱol.

Coming off a stunning victory over Andrew Golota, two-time world champion Lennox Lewis (32-1, 26 KOs) of England is determined to keep his winning streak alive. His decisive first-round demolition of the imposing Golota last Oct. 4 served notice to the boxing community that Lewis is a commanding force in the division.

Brooklyn's Shannon Briggs (29-1, 24 KOs) is coming off the biggest win of this career, a controversial 12-round majority decision over legendary George Foreman that was seen on HBO last Nov. 22. The showdown with Lewis offers the 26-year-old Briggs an opportunity to elevate his standing in the division while vying for a world title.

The executive producer of WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP BOXING: LENNOX LEWIS VS. SHANNON BRIGGS is Ross Greenburg; producer, Rick Bernstein; director, Marc Payton.

Contact Info: